Announced: Sweet Liberties Album 07.10.16

15th August 2016


We’re very pleased to announce that the Sweet Liberties album will be released on 7th October 2016, but is available to pre-order now.

In 2015 the UK marked a year rich in constitutional anniversaries, including 800 years since the sealing of Magna Carta and 750 years since the Simon de Montfort parliament. As part of a wider arts project to celebrate our pursuit of democracy, four prominent folk artists were challenged to compose new music in response to the rights and liberties that people have fought to achieve and protect over the past eight centuries.

BBC Folk Singer of the Year Nancy Kerr, Martyn Joseph, Sam Carter, and Maz O’Connor considered milestones that marked the passage of key pieces of legislation, and also reviewed moments when the aspiration for rights or liberties were articulated.

The four songwriters were joined by musicians Patsy Reid and Nick Cooke for a launch at Parliament’s Speakers House and a UK tour in November 2015, and the six artists came together once more for a final performance at Folk by the Oak in July 2016.

The project was commissioned by the English Folk Dance and Song Society (EFDSS) and Folk by the Oak in partnership with the Houses of Parliament’s 2015 anniversaries programme, Parliament in the Making. It was partly funded by the PRS for Music Foundation.